>

Frequently Asked Questions

Resident Persons with Disabilities Hunting and Fishing License

 
Resident Persons with Disabilities Hunting and Fishing licenses can be renewed 30 days prior to the expiration date of your current license. Renewals can be submitted online at GoOutdoorsFlorida.com or by visiting an assisting Tax Collector Office. To renew online, log into your account at GoOutdoorsFlorida.com and click on the Disability tab to begin the application for renewal. You must be able to upload documentation showing that you meet one of the approved methods of qualification. To renew at an assisting Tax Collector office, first contact your local tax collector to ensure they process Resident Persons with Disabilities Hunting and Fishing licenses. You will need to supply an accepted proof of residency and documentation showing that you meet one of the approved methods of qualification. Read More
 
The Resident Persons with Disabilities Hunting and Fishing license is valid for 2 years or 5 years, depending on the qualifying documentation used when applying. Read More

Age Exemption and Identification

 
Florida residents who are age 65 or older are exempt from the purchase of specified recreational hunting, fishing licenses, and permits, and only need to carry a Florida Driver’s License or Identification Card to prove residency and age. Florida residents who are age 65 or older may also obtain a complimentary, no-cost, hunting and fishing certificate online at GoOutdoorsFlorida.com. This certificate indicates that the holder is not required to purchase saltwater fishing, freshwater fishing, hunting licenses, Snook, lobster, deer, management area, muzzleloading, turkey, archery, crossbow, *Florida waterfowl, and migratory bird permits. Read More
 
Yes, non-resident seniors are required to have a Florida hunting license and permits and/or a recreational fishing license and permits, unless fishing with a charter captain, from a charter vessel or otherwise properly licensed vessel or from a licensed pier. Read More
 
Yes, a driver’s license or state issued identification card may be used by Law Enforcement officers to validate hunting and fishing licenses or permits, and are also required when operating a boat in Florida.

Limited Entry Quota

 
Youth hunters who are less than 16 years of age, a youth supervisor, mentor license holders, and supervisors for mentor license holders are not required to possess a guest permit to hunt with a quota permit holder. Read More
 
Your existing non-transferrable quota permits can easily be printed directly from your GoOutdoorsFlorida.com account. Log in, navigate to the “Awarded Permits” section of the home page, and select “Print.” Read More

Shoreline Licenses

 
No, a saltwater shoreline license only covers saltwater fishing from the land or a structure attached to land. The license does NOT cover anyone fishing from a boat, or from an island that they arrived at by boat. Read More
 
No. The shoreline saltwater fishing license is available only to Florida residents. Non-resident saltwater anglers must purchase a regular non-resident saltwater fishing license. this license may be purchased at GoOutdoorsFlorida.com, at a license agent location, or at an assisting Tax Collector office.

License Digital Copies and Replacement Licenses

 
Digital copies that are generated on the FWC app or through your GoOutdoorsFlorida.com account are the only digital copies that are acceptable by FWC Law Enforcement. Go to GoOutdoorsFlorida.com and select “Show Licenses History” to view, print or renew your licenses.
 
Unless you have purchased a credit-card style hard card or a Lifetime license, your license will not be mailed to you. If you have provided a valid, non-blocked, email address, a PDF copy of your current license will be emailed to you directly after purchasing online. It will also be posted to your account online, and available to reprint at any time. If you are successful in a limited entry/quota drawing and you have provided a valid, non-blocked, email address, your non-transferrable quota permit will be emailed to you, as well as posted to your record online. Reprints are available at no-cost by accessing your licenses and permits through your online account at GoOutdoorsFlorida.com, or at a Tax Collector or retail agent location at a cost of $2.00 or $2.50, respectively. Read More
 
If you have provided a valid, non-blocked, email address a PDF copy of your current license will be emailed to you directly after purchasing online. It will also be posted to your account online. If you are successful in a limited entry/quota drawing and you have provided a valid, non-blocked, email address, your non-transferrable quota permit will be emailed to you as well as posted to your record online.
 
The FWC does not send an additional "copy" of your recreational hunting or fishing license. Your licenses can be accessed online at GoOutdoorsFlorida.com, and if you own a smart phone, you may also download FWC’s Fish|Hunt App at any time and sync your license(s) to your phone. Simply search “FWC” in your app store to download it. Additionally, if you have provided a valid, non-blocked, email address a PDF copy of your current license will be emailed to you directly after purchasing online. It will also be posted to your account online, and available to reprint at any time. Reprints are available at no-cost by accessing them through your online account at GoOutdoorsFlorida.com, or at a tax collector or retail agent location at a cost of $2.00 or $2.50 respectively Read More

Military Gold Sportsman License

 
The Military Gold Sportsman’s license is available to current Active Duty or Fully Retired military members per Florida Statue 379.354(4)(j).
 
The Military Gold Sportsman’s license is available online at GoOutdoorsFlorida.com through an online verification service. Military members will need to enter their military credential information to be verified through this online process. This license is also available to purchase at Florida Tax Collector offices; a valid military identification card must be provided to the clerk to verify current military Active Duty or Fully Retired status.

State Reef Fish Angler

 
Log into your customer account at GoOutdooorsFlorida.com and select “Purchase a License." Add the State Reef Fish Angler to your cart (found under “Saltwater Fishing Permits") and then complete the checkout process. Unless exempt from Saltwater Fishing requirements, you must have a Saltwater Fishing License on file or in your cart to obtain this designation. To learn more about the State Reef Fish Survey, please visit https://MyFWC.com/SRFS.
 
All recreational anglers and divers age 16 and older, including those 65 and older, who are fishing from a private boat anywhere in Florida and intend to harvest, attempt to harvest or possess one or more of the following reef fish species:
  • mutton snapper (new)
  • yellowtail snapper (new)
  • hogfish (new)
  • red snapper
  • vermilion snapper
  • gag grouper
  • red grouper
  • black grouper
  • greater amberjack
  • lesser amberjack
  • banded rudderfish
  • almaco jack
  • gray triggerfish
For more information on who is required to obtain this designation, please visit https://MyFWC.com/SRFS.
 
This is a no-cost item that is valid for one year. Individuals who have a 5-year or lifetime license must obtain this item on an annual basis.
 
Your Gulf Reef Fish Angler designation will remain valid until its expiration date (a year from the date you last obtained it) and will meet the new statewide requirement after the State Reef Fish Angler designation goes into effect on July 1, 2020. You do not need a State Reef Fish Angler designation until your current Gulf Reef Fish Angler designation expires. However, if you would like your State Reef Fish Angler designation and your saltwater fishing license to expire at the same time, you can also choose to sign up this designation when renewing your license.

Shore-based Shark Fishing Permit

 
The Shore-based Shark Fishing permit is required for all anglers age 16 and older, including those 65 and older who are normally exempt from needing a saltwater fishing license. This permit is valid for one year.
 
The Shark-Smart Fishing educational course can be found at https://MyFWC.com/SharkCourse. This course must be taken annually.
 
The Shore-based Shark Fishing permit is available online at GoOutdoorsFlorida.com. Select “Purchase a License” and scroll down to “Saltwater Fishing Permits”, then select “Add to Cart” next to the permit. The unique identification code received from the educational course must be entered prior to obtaining this permit.

Note: Unless you are exempt from needing a saltwater fishing license you must have an active saltwater fishing license on file to obtain this permit. Individuals who are using their Saltwater Products license or Charter Captain license for recreational purposes, or fishing from a licensed pier must contact the Office of Licensing and Permitting at 850-488-3641 to obtain this permit.

Crab Trap Registration

 
Recreational Stone and Blue Crab Trap Registrations are required for all anglers age 16 or older, including those 65 and older who are normally exempt from needing a saltwater fishing license.
 
Recreational Stone and Blue Crab Trap Registrations are available online at GoOutdoorsFlorida.com. Select “Purchase a License” and scroll down to “Saltwater Fishing Permits”, then select “Add to Cart” next to the item that you wish to obtain. Once the checkout process is complete registration numbers will be assigned.

Note: Unless you are exempt from needing a saltwater fishing license you must have an active saltwater fishing license on file to obtain these registrations. Individuals who are using their Saltwater Products license or Charter Captain license for recreational purposes must contact the Office of Licensing and Permitting at 850-488-3641 to obtain these registrations.

Harvest Reporting

 
You can report your harvest at GoOutdoorsFlorida.com, on the Fish|Hunt FL mobile app, or by calling toll-free 888-HUNT-FLORIDA (888-486-8356).
 
Click here for step-by-step instructions on how to submit a harvest report at GoOutdoorsFlorida.com.
 
Click here for step-by-step instructions on how to submit a harvest report on the Fish|Hunt FL mobile app.
 
You will still be able to log your harvest report. Once you regain mobile service, open the mobile app and your harvest report will be automatically submitted. You will then receive a confirmation number.
 
Exempt hunters may report their harvest at GoOutdoorsFlorida.com by selecting “Harvest Reporting,” checking “Exempt Hunter,” and then entering their identifying information. Once logged in, select “Report” next to the “Deer Harvest Form” and complete each field with your harvest information and select “Submit.” Confirm that the information is correct and select “Submit.” Once submitted, you will receive your confirmation number. Please make note of your confirmation number as you will not be able to see your harvest history.

If you would like to obtain a customer ID, you may create an account by selecting “Create Customer Account” and then fill out the required fields to create an account.